ABYM #28: Always Take Time to Relax

Posted: February 21, 2012 in ABYM Rules
Tags: , ,

Relaxation is an important part of life, but it becomes even more important when you are really busy.

When you work all the time, it’s hard to know when to take a break. By the way, when I saw all the time, I mean all the time. When I am down in Nicaragua I get up at 6am, prep for the field, eat breakfast, go out to the field by 7:30, get back at 5pm, do office work til dinner, and hopefully be done shortly after. On average I am done at about 7-8pm each night (unless I have an office day which ends at about 5.) On my 21-24 day rotations, these can get pretty exhausting after a while. If you work a rotational schedule, you know exactly what I am talking about.

This is why it is so important to find little ways to relax throughout the rotation. Whether it be after work beer, rum, vodka, bloody mary’s or margaritas (my bosses like their booze), a hookah at sunset, billiards at the one sheisty bar in town, or even just movies in your room. It’s more important than you might think to find these little oases of relaxation.

Hmmm….something is missing….

Ahhhh….much better.

Leave a Reply

